MLB Announces Cy Young, MVP, and Other Awards Finalists

As the MLB season comes to a close with the Boston Red Sox winning the leagues ultimate prize, the finalists for the Cy Young, MVP, Rookie of the Year, and Manager of the Year awards have been announced.

AL Rookie of the Year:

Miguel Andujar — Yankees

Shohei Ohtani — Angels

Gleyber Torres — Yankees

NL Rookie of the Year:

Ronald Acuña, Jr. — Braves

Juan Soto — Nationals

Walker Buehler — Dodgers

AL Manager of the Year

Kevin Cash — Rays

Bob Melvin — A’s

Alex Cora — Red Sox

NL Manager of the Year

Bud Black — Rockies

Craig Counsell — Brewers

Brian Snitker — Braves

AL Cy Young

Corey Kluber — Indians

Blake Snell — Rays

Justin Verlander — Astros

NL Cy Young

Jacob deGrom — Mets

Aaron Nola — Phillies

Max Scherzer — Nationals

AL Most Valuable Player

Mookie Betts — Red Sox

Jose Ramirez — Indians

Mike Trout — Angels

NL Most Valuable Player

Nolan Arenado — Rockies

Javy Baez — Cubs

Christian Yelich — Brewers

Most of the nods were not exactly surprising. Managing a World Series-winning team in his first year as a team manager says a lot about the kind of buy-in environment Alex Cora was able to foster with his team, which should make him a shoo-in to win the category.

The only unexpected name to not make the Cy Young cut was Chris Sale, but with a rough end of the season, it seems he just missed the mark. While the six finalists all had amazing seasons, if deGrom doesn’t win for the NL, the world may burn.

The MVP categories seem all but determined, too. With Betts in the AL group, it’s all but a given that he will take that category especially since J.D. Martinez didn’t make the finalist cut.

The MLB will announce the winners next week, though, so for now, it’s anyone’s game… almost.

Next Post →
Next Post →